Go to Homepage

A comprehensive guide to Jains, Jainism & Jain places of Pilgrimage

[ Home ][What is a Tirth][Tirth - Gujarat][Tirth - Rajasthan] [ Tirth - Rest of India ][ Jainism ][Tirthankars]

<< Back

Concept of Moksa in Jainism

Jainism is a religion of renunciation. This religion aims at Moksa (liberation). All the ceremonies, rituals, vows, worships, practices, etc. have liberation as their ultimate goal. Jainism believes in moksa (liberation) and discusses in detail the ways to attain moksa.

All religions that believe in ‘soul’ have accepted liberation as the final goal, and show the ways to attain to it.

The definitions of moksa given by each religion are different.

The conception and elucidation of moksa by Jainism is quite lucid,. quite clear.

According to Jainism, when karmas of all types are completely destroyed and when one takes delight in the soul’s is nature and becomes one with the soul, one attains moksa (liberation). It is the nature of the soul to reside in its virtues. To reside in the virtues means to reside in the nature of the soul. This nature means perception, knowledge and conduct. The culmination-perfection of these three means moksa. The souls that have attained moksa are free.

The residing place - ‘siddhalaya’ or siddhasila - of such holy souls is also called ‘moksa’.

Moksa even means ‘death of death’. The liberated soul is not born again; does not die again./ He simply remains as ‘the soul’, he becomes Parmatma by reaching the highest status. This is immortality’, with purity and freedom from karma.

This is the nature of moksa :

1. ‘Moksa is free from birth, old age and death.
2. Moksa is devoid of all the eight karmas.
3. ‘Moksa is free from ruin or destruction.
4. ‘Moksa has infinite knowledge, infinite perception, infinite joy and infinite power.
5. ‘Moksa is supra-sensuous and incomparable.
6. ‘Moksa is eternal, steady and supportless.
7. Where there is no misery, no happiness, no pain, no hindrance, no death, no birth, there is moksa.
8. Where there are no senses, no calamities, no attraction, no wonder, no sleep, no thirst, no hunger, there is moksa.
9. Where there is no karma, no worry, no arta, raudra, dharma or sukla dhyana, there is moksa.

Free or liberated souls have these qualities - absolute knowledge, absoulte happiness, absoulte perception, non-tangibility, existence and occupancy space (pradesatva).

The place of moksa

The liberated soul, completely free from karma, goes to the uppermost and portion of the loka. There is no substance like dharmastikaya beyond the end portion of the loka. Hence the free souls are not able to go beyond that.

These are the names of the place of moksa-Siddhasila, Siddhalaya, Mukti, Isata, Pragbhara Prithvi.

The ground of Siddhasila is similar to the ground of the human world; it has the same length and breadth. The length of the central portion of the moksa-bhumi is eight yojanas. Its ultimate portion is thinner than the wings of a fly. Its shape is like a straight umbrella and it is made of white gold.

The qualification for moksa

Any man can attain liberation after performing the pure spiritual practice, i.e. after obtaining right perception, right knowledge and right conduct and perfection in penance.

For further study please read ‘Uttaradhyayana Sutra’ and ‘Tattvarthasutra’ etc.



About Us | Feedback
copyright© 2001, Jinalaya.com Prodigy Software Ltd India, a Weathercraft group company
Best viewed with a resolution of 800*600 and 256 colors or higher